Today is Day 61 in our journey through the Bible in 90 days.

We just passed the 2/3 mark in the Bible! Amazing! Keep going!

The book of Lamentations is sad. Its name is fitting – it’s the prophet Jeremiah weeping (lamenting) for his fallen people and city. It’s burned and dead because of sin, despite the countless warnings God had given.

Lamentations is basically a set of funeral poems, mourning the punishment that God sent because of Israel’s sins.

One thing that you may have noticed is that Chapters 1, 2, 4, and 5 all have 22 verses. If you know anything about the Hebrew alphabet, you also know that it has 22 letters. That’s not a coincidence. Each Chapter contains 1 verse per letter of the alphabet. The difference is Chapter 3, which has 66 verses. Each letter of the Hebrew alphabet is represented by 3 verses there. In other words, Lamentations is mourning from A to Z (or Alef to Tav) because of the devastation of sin.

Although it’s not the most joyful book, there is a glimpse of hope right in the middle. Lamentations 3:22-24 is a gem…

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;t
his mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
“The Lord is my portion,” says my soul,
“therefore I will hope in him.” – Lamentations 3:22-24

Good stuff, right? God’s mercy is new every morning…even to people who have been beat down and wrecked by sin. God is a God of mercy, forgiveness, and hope, and although the message of the book is sad, we cling to these verses of hope!

Remember that sin will always cause devastation and pain in your life. Cling to God’s mercy and live for His glory – not your own.

Enjoy Ezekiel – parts of it seem like it’s straight off the sci-fi channel!